Skip to content

Boutique Chats To…Anne Look

September 21, 2010

Another great blogger we met at our Blogging Style Event, was Anne Look of Stylist And The City. Anne has worked with some of the biggest names in the business and her passion and knowledge are endless. Here’s a little insight into her style and how she became involved in fashion.

Give us a little introduction to yourself?

I’m predominantly a fashion stylist. I came to London from Sydney about 4 years ago to study Design and Merchandising at London College of Fashion and loved it. About a year ago, I kept meeting a lot of people who asked me what styling was about and what it involved, so I thought a blog would be a great way to show people the reality of it.

What motivated you to become a stylist?

For me, it was about creating. It’s important to have an outlet and to be able to do your own thing and for me, thats creating through fashion. I didn’t even know it was a real job! I used to sit in my room growing up, cutting up magazines and putting outfits together and my parents thought I was crazy!

How would you describe your own style?

When I first started out, my work often portrayed the way I dressed, which was quite messy and thrown together. Now that I know more about fashion, I know about form, texture, colours and what looks good. My style is kind of rocky, hobo and a bit glam, I like to experiment, it’s so important to keep evolving.

Do you have a favourite item in your wardrobe?

I love hats! I own about 40, I find them in flea markets. I have a vintage black Chanel hat that I love, so it would have to be that.

What new desingers do you think are going to steal the limelight this upcoming season?

Michael Van Der Ham, he has a thrown together aesthetic with a real significant feel to it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

